AKSU holds 14th matriculation ceremony

AKSU holds 14th matriculation ceremony

By Ephraim, Racheal Emem

Akwa Ibom State University held its 14th Matriculation ceremony today, May 3, 2024, at Ikot Akpaden, Main Campus, Mkpat Enin Local Government Area, Akwa Ibom State. The celebration aimed to welcome and officially admit students who have successfully gained admission into the school.

In his address, the Vice-Chancellor of the institution, Prof. Nse U. Essien, congratulated and officially welcomed the matriculating students into the university. He announced that Akwa Ibom State University matriculated 3,236 students into 8 faculties of the institution, including the pioneer 36 students in the School of Continuing Education, during its 14th matriculation ceremony for the 2023/2024 academic session.

Prof. Essien further highlighted the university’s achievements, stating that it ranks as the 17th best university in the country, the 4th best among state universities, and the 2nd best tertiary institution in the South-South region of Nigeria. He emphasized the university’s zero-tolerance policy towards anti-social activities such as cultism, examination misconduct, indecent dressing, and other vices. He urged students to uphold good behavior, focus on their studies, and recognize the importance of university education in economic development.

Also speaking at the ceremony was the Commissioner of Education, Mrs. Rose Bassey, represented by the Commissioner of Women Affairs. She commended the school administration for its accomplishments and advised students to prioritize their education, emphasizing that a good certificate is essential for a brighter future. She concluded her speech with the adage, “To whom much is given, much is expected.”

The ceremony concluded with the matriculating students taking the matriculation oath administered by the Registrar of the Institution, Dr. Ebi Eno Ibanga. Among those in attendance were members of the Governing Council of the University, Principal Officers, Deans of Faculties, Heads of Departments, the Dean of Students Affairs, Engr. Dominic Ekpo, and the student leaders led by the Students Union President, Comrade Etimbuk Daniel, and Parliamentarians

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button