19 Commissioners of Education Support GOVT’s Decision To Suspend School Resumption

The Commissioner of Education in 19 Northern States, have supported the Federal Government’s decision to suspend school reopening.

In a communiqué released in Kaduna, during a virtual meeting where other issues that borders on Education were discussed.

The Commissioner of Education, Kaduna,Dr Shehu Markafi, who is also the Chairman of the Northern States School Exchange Programme.

However, out of the 19 Commissioners, only 13 attended the meeting.

They include Kaduna; Niger; Adamawa; Katsina; Borno; Kogi; Kwara; Jigawa; Nasarawa; Kano; Taraba; Gombe and Bauch.

The Commissioners, in their communiqué said that keeping school shut down considering the spike in cases of COVID-19 across the country, is a good step in ensuring that students remain safe.

“We have, therefore, resolved, that schools should reopen only when it is safe to do so and when states have complied with the minimum COVID-19 safety protocols as outlined by the NCDC.

“We will also participate in the West Africa Senior School Certificate Examination and other examinations only when it is safe to reopen schools and when coordinated by the Fedral Ministry of Education,” the statement read in part.

This Communique by the 19 Northern State Commissioners of Education is coming on the back drop of the statement made by the Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu, who at the of a virtual Federal Executive Council meeting, presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari, said schools will remain close, and that students of Federal Government owned schools preparing for external exams like WASSCE would be exempted.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button